Forgive me, but this is a rant from a music teacher who is angrily watching the news wondering if I'm going to have a job (AGAIN!) next year...
Are we really this short-sighted in America? How is it possible that, just 2 years after electing Barack Obama by what in political terms is practically considered a landslide, we are handing the House back to the same crazy people who dug us such a deep hole that we're still trying to dig ourselves out?
You've got to be F-ing kidding me.
The GDP is finally growing, we've passed a barely eeked-out healthcare bill (that is not even as progressive as what Jimmy Carter proposed in 1977), and it looks like we might finally get out of the middle-east (effectively, anyway, since for some reason we still occupy Germany--didn't that end over 65 years ago?), but rather than rewarding the people who are moving our country forward, we are giving the keys back to the idiots who only know how to drive in reverse--in a military-issue gas-guzzling Hummer, wielding machine guns and throwing gigantic bags of cash, but only to the people who are already wealthy enough that they don't give a flying crap.
I love this country, but I cannot believe there are so many uneducated people who live in it. Is it because the lower and middle class people truly believe in the American dream--that they will one day become independently wealthy millionaires living in mansions more spacious than the White House itself? Why on Earth else would "normal" people be convinced that the Bush-era tax cuts would be beneficial to them? Or are they really just that concerned that all the CEOs and fat cats might have to sell their second private jets or perhaps pay 39% of their income rather than 36%?
Un-freakin'-believable. Two steps forward in 2008, and 40-some giant leaps backward in 2010.
Mike,
ReplyDeleteI definitely feel for you, but I thought I would share something that might cheer you up temporarily: Bill Bailey's Guide to the Orchestra
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPpeHIH7HSU
It's tough to not feel apathetic when I vote in every election and it appears that my vote holds no meaning. I'm also a teacher and I share that yearly tradition of "Will I have a job?" anxiety. Just be assured that the pendulum will swing the other way (possibly as soon as 2012). I think a lot of Americans are just fickle--when problems aren't solved right away, they go for the polar opposite hoping that it will end up in a different result.
ReplyDeleteIs it American ADHD or just idiocy? I guess we'll never know, but when I do see international news, I am surprised (sarcasm) to find that people are much more "global" in their mindsets. More liberal, too.
ReplyDelete